My Anthony Trollope Ratings

20 May

I have not read much of Trollope’s work but I recently started The Way We Live Now and intend to get to He Knew He Was Right sometime in the near future.

Barchester Chronicles

Book- It’s really the first two books of the Chronicles of Barsetshire, The Warden and Barchester Towers. I admit I could not get into these two books very much. I found the kind Mr. Harding adorable and the archdeacon funny but John Bold was annoying (apparently even the author hated him!) and I did not really get involved in the love story. But I liked the villains, Mr. Slope and the Stanhopes to be the most interesting. 7/10

1982- I liked it more than the books, I think. Eleanor’s constant praise of her baby was downplayed and Alan Rickman was an excellent Mr. Slope. 8/10

The Way We Live Now

Book- Too long. Some parts were good. Others I found too draggy. 6/10

3 Responses to “My Anthony Trollope Ratings”

  1. Julie May 20, 2010 at 5:51 PM #

    I see you and I agree on much of the Austen books/movies. I always knew you were a person of taste and refinement! I’d also be interested to see your opinion on The Way We Live Now. I loved the book, but I hate that adaptation with a white-hot passion. I liked the book of He Knew He Was Right, but have not yet seen the adaptation. I own it someplace, plus it’s on my Netflix instant queue.

    And, last but not least, congrats on the blog — it looks lovely. 🙂

    • marspeach May 20, 2010 at 8:53 PM #

      I know, I’m afraid to watch it actually! I haven’t had much time to get going with the book as much as I would like because of car trouble and I want to wait until I finish the book to watch the mini.

      • Julie May 21, 2010 at 9:28 PM #

        I feel your pain when it comes to car trouble. *sigh* I’m heading out tomorrow to begin car shopping and, in the meantime, the current car is going to the shop (yet again!!!) on Tuesday.

Leave a Reply

