My Georgette Heyer Ratings

20 May

These are my quick thoughts on the Georgette Heyer books that I have read. Unfortunately, aside from a German version of Arabella these have not been made into movies. The one exception is The Reluctant Widow, which I viewed on youtube out of curiosity. All I can say is- don’t waste your time. It was beyond bad and it’s really no wonder Heyer supposedly didn’t want any other movies of her works made.

The Black Moth- Written when she was just a teen, weaker than her other works but her talent is obvious. 6/10

Powder and Patch- Thought it was amusing at first but then the characters got on my nerves. 6/10

Regency Buck- One of my favorites! Love the banter between Judith and Lord Worth. 10/10

The Corinthian- Hilarious. Focused more on comedy/mystery than romance. 8/10

Faro’s Daughter- Had some really LOL bits but the romance was also well drawn out. 8/10

The Reluctant Widow- More of a mystery. Loved Nicky. Thought the romance under-developed. 7/10

Arabella- The heroine’s antics and the hero’s reactions made me smile. 9/10

The Grand Sophy- Absolutely loved it except the ending where everything is magically resolved at once. 9/10

The Quiet Gentleman- A quiet romance but a good mystery. 8/10

Cotillion- Lovable, very unconventional hero who would normally be a comic sidekick. 8/10

Sprig Muslin- Too much time spent on annoying girl and not enough with main couple. 6/10

Sylvester- Another with shades of P&P. Favorite! 10/10

The Unknown Ajax- More time spent on a smuggling ring than on the lovely romance. 6/10

The Nonesuch- Loved hero and heroine, loved to hate the bratty girl. 10/10

Behold, Here’s Poison- Delightful mystery. Even more delightful surprise romance! 9/10

No Wind of Blame- Not as good as Poison but still enjoyable. 8/10

4 Responses to “My Georgette Heyer Ratings”

  1. Katherine May 23, 2010 at 1:49 AM #

    So far I’ve read Cotillion and Reluctant Widow, both of which I greatly enjoyed, especially the later. I look forward to reading Regency buck, there’s nothing more entertaining than witty banter.

    • marspeach May 23, 2010 at 2:19 AM #

      I also highly recommend Sylvester!

      • Julie May 27, 2010 at 6:30 AM #

        Sylvester is terrific! But my all-time favorite is The Talisman Ring. I’m not sure why, but it is. The Toll-Gate is fun too.

        You might not like either of them because the romance isn’t the top priority, but the stories themselves are fun. Both involve mysteries.

  2. marspeach May 27, 2010 at 9:34 AM #

    I plan to read all her books but I’m trying to space them out.

Leave a Reply

