Pride and Prejudice Book Review- Unpopular opinion?

30 May

This is not really a formal review, just some of my thoughts.

I like Pride and Prejudice. I really do. It’s one of my favorite novels. But, I must confess, it’s not my favorite Jane Austen novel. I like both Persuasion and Emma better and Sense and Sensibility is very, very close.

I first read the book when I was 14 and I absolutely loved Elizabeth Bennet and her sharp wit. I really liked Darcy too, but everyone paled in comparison to Elizabeth. I thought the story was incredibly romantic. I even thought Mr. Bennet was a doll. I saw the 1995 version very shortly after I finished the book and my opinions were less than favorable. But that’s a review for another day.

My opinion has changed over the years and frequent rereads. I saw what a bad father and husband Mr. Bennet really was. I still like Elizabeth and Darcy, but mostly because they are dynamic characters who mature and grow to become a worthy couple. I find Elizabeth quite immature and a bit too sure of herself in the beginning and Darcy to be on the controlling side. They are both proud and both prejudiced in the beginning but I do like that they learn from their mistakes and change.

The book is a delightful comedy of manners. But I more highly admire Elinor Dashwood, Anne Elliot, and even Fanny Price than Elizabeth Bennet. And I’d take Frederick Wentworth, Henry Tilney, Mr. Knightley, or Colonel Brandon over Darcy. Although the 10,000 a year does work in his favor…

My Rating: 10/10

One Response to “Pride and Prejudice Book Review- Unpopular opinion?”

  1. Julie May 30, 2010 at 3:07 PM #

    I’m so glad someone else thinks that Frederick is more romantic than Darcy!

Leave a Reply

