The Way We Live Now (Book)

31 May

This is the third Trollope book I have read. I thought the description sounded really interesting and I’d heard so many good things about it. But in the end, I was disappointed.  It was like a cross between Charles Dickens and George Eliot for me, and you know how I feel about those authors. For one thing, the book was way too long. There were some parts of it and characters that I liked (Roger Carbury and Mrs. Hurtle) but even storylines I was into in the beginning felt draggy to me towards the end.

I found both Paul Montague and Hetta Carbury to be rather insipid and weak. I came to like Hetta a little more by the end as she was able to stand up for herself a little, but I never understood what she saw in Paul. And what did Mrs. Hurtle see in him either? I found her backstory fascinating and wanted to know more about her. I would definitely have chosen Roger Carbury if I were Hetta.

I’ve watched the first episode of the Andrew Davies miniseries and I’m not liking it very much at all. I do think I would like a good filmed version of the story just as I like most Dickens and Eliot adaptations but this is just missing the point. It’s WAY too sexed up. I know it’s Andrew Davies, but come on! It’s beyond ridiculous.

My Rating:  6/10

One Response to “The Way We Live Now (Book)”

  1. Julie May 31, 2010 at 11:10 AM #

    Hoorah! Someone else who understands! The book is outstanding, but the series is just so badly done that I almost cried from frustration at the end.

    Davies takes a scathing social commentary and turns it into a tawdry soap opera focusing on Felix’s sex life. Feh.

Leave a Reply

