Kandukondain Kandukondain Mini Review

7 Jun

Kandukondain Kandukondain, or I Have Found It in English, is an Indian version of Sense and Sensibility. My DVD says “A Bollywood adaptation of Jane Austen’s Sense and Sensibility” on it but the film is actually from southern India, and in Tamil rather than Hindi. These films are also sometimes known as Kollywood.

It stars Tabu and Aishwarya Rai as Indian versions of Elinor and Marianne, respectively. Ash (and others) had her voice dubbed even though according to IMDB, can speak Tamil. Whatever…

Anyway, if you’ve never seen any Indian films, it takes some getting used to. A scene will be going on like normal and then the characters burst into song! I had seen Bride and Prejudice, also with Aishwarya Rai, before this, but that was made for a Western audience so it was easier to watch.

I wasn’t crazy about this movie, honestly. I liked some of the scenes wit Meenakshi and Captain Bala (Marianne and Colonel Brandon) the best, actually. And there were funny parts. But I felt it took too long to get started (it’s over 2 hours long) and then rushed everything in at the end. I got so bored trying to rewatch it for the review that I skipped over the musical numbers. I guess I’m just not the right audience for this.

My Rating: 5/10

Leave a Reply

