The Young Victoria

11 Jun

I have been waiting to see this movie forever and finally had the opportunity to do so! The Young Victoria is about Queen Victoria’s life just before and early in her reign as queen. It mainly focuses on the love story between her and Prince Albert. It sticks mostly to historical facts but fudged some stuff to make it more dramatic and romantic on screen (I have to admit I had no problems with this).

When most people think of Queen Victoria, they probably think a fat little prudish woman. That was certainly her image as she got on in years but by focusing this on when she is a young woman (and played by the beautiful, slim Emily Blunt) she definitely has more appeal to audiences. The movie is gorgeous, beautifully acted (loved Mark Strong as Sir John Conroy. He’s much better playing villains like this and Lord Blackwood in Sherlock Holmes), and really romantic. As a historical work alone it’s probably not the best but as a historical romance it’s great!

The costumes are all really eye-catching. I was surprised at how much I liked them! It’s my least favorite era in fashion history and most of Victoria’s gowns are borderline gaudy (she is the queen after all!), yet the costume designer and Emily Blunt managed to make them work. Here are my favorites:

Green Gown:

If you look closely, you’ll see a blue pattern on it. This is one of her simpler gowns, actually. Albert’s coat is pretty snappy too!

Silver Gown

The shiny silverish lilac color is gorgeous!

Blue Gown

I love the blue and the flowers.

Yellow Gown

This is one I was surprised to like. The flowers and the color could have been garish and over the top, but it works!

This movie is almost worth watching for the costumes alone!

My Rating: 8/10

2 Responses to “The Young Victoria”

  1. kaprekar June 26, 2010 at 3:44 PM #

    I really enjoyed this film, I was a bit wary of it being yet ‘another costume drama’ beforehand but it really sucked me in and I liked it a lot. I especially liked that I learned a lot more about Victoria than I knew before and it joined the dots up on some of the stories that I was familiar with.

    For example I never knew that Victoria caused a constitutional crisis because of her choice of ladies in waiting – how incredible is that? And also that if she had been under 18 when the old King died, then we might have ended up with another regency.

    I was also shocked about the rules of her upbringing eg she had to sleep in her mother’s bedroom until she became Queen, but it was also impressive to see how she assumed command so naturally once she became Queen.

    Agree the costumes were amazing.

  2. kaprekar June 26, 2010 at 3:45 PM #

    PS I also really liked the portrayal of Albert.

Leave a Reply

