Best and Worst Movies/TV Shows of 2010

1 Jan

I didn’t see nearly as many shows or movies this year as I read books. I rarely watch movies in theaters. I did watch quite a few period dramas, which take up a good part of the list, but most of them were pretty old. I’m going to limit this list to movies that were actually released in 2010. Some of them were technically from 2009, but didn’t come out on DVD until 2010, so I’m going to count those as well.

Best:

1. Bright Star I’ve already posted about how beautiful and understated this movie was. No one I know (outside of the internet) has even heard of it. Such a shame.

2. Downton Abbey– I ignored this while it was airing and finally gave in out of curiosity and was so pleasantly surprised!

3. Emma– This miniseries wasn’t perfect, but it still became my favorite Emma adaptation.

4. Going Postal– It was hilarious. I loved the characters and the whole Discworld universe. The books are still on my TBR list.

5. Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Pt. 1– My favorite Harry Potter movie! I hope Pt. 2 is even better.

6. Iron Man 2– I really only have two negative things to say about this: A. It wasn’t as good as the first one (but that was hard to top). B. Replacement of Terrence Howard.

7. Sherlock- I just discovered this modern-day Sherlock Holmes a few days ago and watched all three (90 minute) episodes in one night. Is it really going to be a whole year until the second season?

8. Sherlock Holmes– I was expecting this movie to just be goofy and silly after the trailer but it was actually really good.

9. Toy Story 3– It wasn’t the best in the series, but it was still really good. I didn’t quite cry, but I almost did!

10. The Young Victoria– It wasn’t exactly a historically accurate movie but it was still a nice romance with nice costumes.

Worst:

1. Hot Tub Time Machine– My cousin watched the DVD with me. She loved it but I thought it was just a stupid, forgettable comedy.

2. Percy Jackson and the Olympians: The Lightning Thief– Talk about a disappointment! I liked the Percy Jackson book series but it was quite obvious the filmmakers didn’t care about the source material. It was an okay movie on its own, nothing special. But aside from Percy, they butchered the book characters.

3. Return to Cranford– It was…okay. Hopefully this is the end of the whole Cranford saga. I liked the first series, but it seemed like they were running out of ideas for this. Mary was barely in it and instead new characters were shoved down our throats. Who is this Bell family that have supposedly lived in Cranford forever and yet were never seen or even mentioned in the first series? Why are we supposed to care about them? It had some nice moments, but was weak overall.

4. The Twilight Saga: Eclipse– No, I did not pay to see this. Why do I keep watching these horrible movies? I am not a Twilight fan. I guess I’m just a masochist.

5. Upstairs Downstairs– It was just trying to cram in too many storylines into too little time. A disappointment.

I’m really happy I couldn’t find more movies to put in the worst list. There were some other old ones that I wasn’t fond of and/or stopped watching because I couldn’t get into them, but I didn’t want to put them all in here. I hope there are some good films and shows in store for this year!

5 Responses to “Best and Worst Movies/TV Shows of 2010”

  1. 5plitreel January 1, 2011 at 4:27 PM #

    Aww Hot Tub Time Machine. I’m not a fan of comedy, but I actually liked it though. But TBF it’s not among the best is it haha

    • marspeach January 2, 2011 at 12:43 AM #

      I like comedies if they’re well done. This wasn’t the worst movie I’ve ever seen, but it was compared to the other things I watched this year.

  2. Katherine Cox January 4, 2011 at 1:04 PM #

    The Bell family in Return to Cranford are based on the Browne’s from Gaskell’s novella, The Moorland Cottage. In the original Cranford production they did the same thing, adding plot/characters from novella’s, for example the story of Dr. Harrison is based on Mr. Harrison’s Confessions and Lady Ludlow from My Lady Ludlow.

    I’ve heard so many good things about Going Postal, I’m curious to see it. I saw Bright Star but didn’t like it. I felt we never really got to know the characters, specifically John Keats.

    • marspeach January 4, 2011 at 2:02 PM #

      I had read the book before I saw either of the miniseries and I knew they drew on her other stories for the series. It was just weird that in the second series, they referred to the Bells as if they had always been in Cranford when they were never seen or mentioned in the first series!

  3. ladylavinia1932 September 10, 2012 at 4:20 PM #

    [“Iron Man 2- I really only have two negative things to say about this: A. It wasn’t as good as the first one (but that was hard to top). B. Replacement of Terrence Howard.”]

    Actually, I believe this was better than the original IRON MAN. It had more originality and a more complex narrative than the first movie, whose unoriginal plot was enhanced by the cast and Farveau’s direction.

Leave a Reply

