Jane Austen Revisited- Best and Worst

28 Apr

Now that I’ve finished all the Jane Austen stuff, I decided I would go back over the books and adaptations and list my favorites and least favorites (AKA I’m bored out of my mind and I have nothing else to do right now). This is just for fun.

Book Rankings:

  1. Persuasion
  2. Emma
  3. Pride and Prejudice
  4. Sense and Sensibility
  5. Mansfield Park
  6. Northanger Abbey

Favorite Heroines: Anne Elliot, Elinor Dashwood, Fanny Price

Least Favorite Heroine: Catherine Morland

Favorite Heroes: Henry Tilney, George Knightley, Frederick Wentworth

Least Favorite Hero: Edward Ferrars

Top Five Adaptations:

  1. Persuasion 1995
  2. Pride and Prejudice 2005
  3. Sense and Sensibility 2008
  4. Emma 2009
  5. Mansfield Park 1983

Bottom Four Adaptations:

  1. Mansfield Park 1999
  2. Persuasion 2007
  3. Northanger Abbey 1987
  4. Mansfield Park 2007

I just remembered that I never went back and reviewed Lady Susan or her two incomplete works, The Watsons and Sanditon. Crap, I’ll get to that…eventually.

One Response to “Jane Austen Revisited- Best and Worst”

  1. TalleyBeth March 23, 2012 at 4:19 PM #

    Your rankings are spot on.

Leave a Reply

