Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte

8 Jun

My review is finally here on Charlotte Bronte’s most popular book, Jane Eyre. Many people consider this her masterpiece (with a minority preferring Villette). I have to agree- Jane Eyre is my number one of her novels, by far.

We all know the story by this point. A governess falls in love with her employer to find out he has a dark secret…dun dun dun! It’s very much a Romantic as well as romantic novel. It’s very different from anything Jane Austen ever wrote, that’s for sure! (Charlotte was not a fan of dear Jane, by the way).

The first time I read this book, as a freshman in high school, I didn’t get into it until after Jane got to Thornfield. I found the parts with Jane as a child draggy. Now I get sucked into the story right from the beginning. Young Jane is a fiery, passionate creature who’s not afraid to speak her mind. Lowood makes her take on a more controlled, reserved front but she never loses her inner passions. I find Jane so strong and still a realistic character- I just love her.

It’s not a totally perfect book but it’s close. It’s only little nitpicks that bug me- like all the coincidences. Rochester isn’t exactly my favorite character but I totally get the connection and the love between them and on a literary level I do like him. On a personal level, I don’t- but it works in a book. I appreciate how he has to suffer for his sins and really has to earn his happy ending.

My Rating: 10/10

 

Leave a Reply

