Graceling by Kristin Cashore

11 Jun

Graceling is the story of Katsa, a girl “graced” with the power to kill.  I was expecting an action-packed adventure with the bonus of romance. I think my expectations were part of what made the book so disappointing for me.

It started out promising and sucked me in. I liked the cast of characters (well, Po was perhaps a little too perfect) and just the whole idea in general. I really wanted to love this book, but in the end, I just couldn’t.

I think Cashore had a great idea and the bare bones of the plot line were good. It fell apart, however, in the execution. For one thing, it’s poorly written. The prose/sentence structures are clumsy and filled with repetition of the same words and phrases. The awkwardness kept taking me out of the story while reading, even in the interesting parts. Where were the editors for this book, I just wanna know?

Then we come to the plot itself. Like I said, it started out good- in an action-filled scene. Then it quickly went down-hill. After an introduction to the world and characters, it moved to a long, draggy middle of the protagonists traveling, building up to a villain we barely even see and a blink-and-you’ll-miss-it anticlimax. I was just disappointed all around.

I think this book could have been great if Kristin Cashore maybe had taken more care to flesh out her ideas- and gotten a better editor. Seriously, whoever did this book was clearly asleep on the job.

My Rating: 5/10

Leave a Reply

