Divergent by Veronica Roth

21 Jun

I’m sorry this is not a Jane Eyre review! I will get into those adaptations soon, I promise! I just need to get my hands on the 1934 version so I can start at the beginning. For some reason, I forgot to order that one. Oopsies!

For now, I have a YA book review, specifically Divergent by Veronica Roth. It’s set in a dystopian Chicago where society is divided into five factions based on personality traits- Candor (honest), Erudite (intelligent), Dauntless (fearless), Agnegation (selfless), and Amity (peaceful). Sixteen-year-olds must take a test to see what faction they belong in and then choose where they’ll be the rest of their lives. The protagonist, Beatrice, is torn whether to stay in Abnegation with her family or leave them. It doesn’t help that her test results were inconclusive- She’s divergent, and doesn’t fit perfectly in any faction. And it could mean danger if the secret gets out.

Dystopians are all the rage in YA right now. I like dystopians if they’re well done, but I was a bit hesitant to read this one.  It got really good reviews and I was afraid it was just over-hyped, like Matched. And the author, Veronica Roth, is only 22 years old! I was just…nervous. Luckily, my fears were unfounded.

Divergent was great! It has almost as much action as The Hunger Games. The characters were diverse and well-written. Beatrice, or Tris as she renames herself, is a realistic character who grows mentally and physically throughout the novel. I liked the romantic subplot as well- it wasn’t forced and fakey like in Matched.

Divergent is the first in a trilogy and it definitely left me hungry for more! I want to find out what happens next, of course, but I also want to know more about this Chicago’s history. What happened? War? How long has it been that way? I hope Veronica Roth tells us in the next installments.

Gah, I’m so jealous of Veronica Roth and her writing skills at such a young age. I know with more time and experience, she’s going to be amazing. I would love to be like that…if only I had an ounce of creativity.

My Rating: 9/10

Leave a Reply

