Agatha Christie Catch-Up

29 Jun

I’m back with five more Agatha Christie books! Just a few more of these posts and I’ll be caught up.

Parker Pyne Investigates: This is a series of short stories featuring the titular Parker Pyne. He makes a living making people happy. Some of the stories have him fixing people’s relationships. Others feature Parker Pyne getting reluctantly involved in more serious crimes. I much preferred the more crime-related ones.

  • Did I guess? I think I guessed one short story correctly.
  • My Rating: 8/10

The Sittaford Mystery- A ouija board seems to predict a man’s death. I found this kind of a weak book, on the whole. The detective, Inspector Narracott, was essentially useless, and it was actually the accused killer’s fiancee, Emily Trefusis, who solved the crime. I also found the solution pretty unsatisfying.

  • Did I guess? Yeah, unfortunately.
  • My Rating: 6/10

Peril at End House: Several attempts have been made on a young woman’s life. Poirot tries to figure out who’s behind it before it’s too late. I highly enjoyed this one, even though I thought the solution was obvious from the beginning. I did not, on the other hand, know the motive for the crime. The criminal is very clever.

  • Did I guess? Yes, almost from the very beginning.
  • My Rating: 8/10

Lord Edgware Dies: A woman supposedly killed her husband yet was at the same time attending a dinner party. This was a good one, even though I knew the truth early on- once again, before Poirot.

  • Did I guess? Yes, again, almost from the very beginning.
  • My Rating: 8/10

Murder on the Orient Express: This is one of her most popular novels. A man is stabbed to death on a train. This is a really brilliant mystery that I would never have been able to solve if I had not, unfortunately, seen the ending of the movie years ago. That totally ruined the “mystery” aspect for me, but it’s still a great book.

  • Did I guess? No, I already knew.
  • My Rating: 10/10
6 Responses to “Agatha Christie Catch-Up”

  1. Cool cat June 30, 2011 at 1:18 AM #

    I lived Murder on the Orient Express too. one of the best i think :). Lord Edgware Dies was good.

  2. Cool cat June 30, 2011 at 1:19 AM #

    I liked Murder on the Orient Express too. one of the best i think :). Lord Edgware Dies was good.

  3. Karlyne Landrum June 30, 2011 at 4:16 PM #

    What a fun site this is; I’m going to have to go on an Agatha Christie re-read jag!

  4. Bucur Dragos July 11, 2011 at 9:18 AM #

    I think we had enough of Agatha Christie….What about Jane Austin or some other Victorian writers ?

    • marspeach July 11, 2011 at 9:46 AM #

      First of all, I didn’t know I was writing this to please a certain audience. Secondly, have you read any of my other reviews? I’ve already done all Jane Austen’s stuff!

      • Bucur Dragos July 16, 2011 at 4:50 AM #

        Now you know. )))That’s good ! I’ll check it !

Leave a Reply

