Agatha Christie…getting there…

30 Jun

Why am I always too lazy to write about something immediately after I read it? I just want to know. I’ve always been a procrastinator.

Why Didn’t They Ask Evans?- A man dies at a golf course. Was it accident or murder? What was the meaning of his last words, “Why didn’t they ask Evans?” No Poirot or other detective connection here. Just a pair of Bright Young Things, kind of like Tommy and Tuppence (the same actors played them in adaptations, funnily enough). I liked this one at first, but it fizzled out for me halfway through. I’m not sure why, actually. And the solution to who Evans made me wanna smack myself! At least, I probably would have if I were the one investigating.

  • Did I guess? Yes.
  • My Rating: 7/10

Three Act Tragedy- A man drops dead at a party. Old age or poison? This is a Poirot novel, but Poirot is barely in it. He used to get on my nerves, but somewhere along the line I came to love him, ego and all. This book seemed kind of cold to me. Not just because of the relative lack of Poirot. I just couldn’t connect and I found it draggy in bits.

  • Did I guess? Yes, but I didn’t know the motive.
  • My Rating: 7/10

Death in the Clouds- Woman murdered on a plane. Poirot saves the day. It was interesting to read about the earliest days of commercial air travel, but this book was good but nothing special for me.

  • Did I guess? Yes, I kept going back in forth between two characters but I got it right.
  • My Rating: 7/10

The ABC Murders- Poirot and Hastings. A seemingly psychopathic serial killer is bumping off people in alphabetical order. I really enjoyed the twist in this one.

  • Did I guess? I can’t remember..I think if I did, it was very late in the game.
  • My Rating: 8/10

Murder in Mesopotamia– The wife of an archaeologist in Iraq is receiving threatening letters and winds up murdered. Another Poirot. The narrator in this one is interesting- not a detective, and not a “bright young thing,” but a no-nonsense hospital nurse. I found this book really enjoyable, but the solution was a bit too far-fetched.

  • Did I guess? Yes, I thought it would be too crazy, but it was actually the right solution. You really have to suspend disbelief for it.
  • My Rating: 8/10
Leave a Reply

