Agatha Christie Finished!!!

1 Jul

Not that I’ve finished reading all of Christie’s books, but with this post I’ve caught up with reviewing all of the ones I have read.

Cards on the Table: An eccentric rich guy invites four murderers and four sleuths to a party. While the two groups are in separate rooms playing bridge, the rich guy dies. This is very different from her other novels where everyone is a suspect- only four people could have done it. This was an excellent, tightly plotted book. I enjoyed seeing four detective characters work together- Poirot, Ariadne Oliver, Colonel Race, and Superintendent Battle.

  • Did I solve it? Yes, but not using the bridge game like Poirot did. I know nothing about bridge so it was all over my head.
  • My Rating: 10/10

Dumb Witness- Poirot gets a letter from an old woman, but by that time she’s dead. The dumb witness refers to the woman’s dog, Bob. Hastings has a few cute “conversations” with Bob, but this book was nothing special to me.

  • Did I solve it? Yes, I had one theory at first that was totally wrong but I picked up on the same things that Poirot did.
  • My Rating: 7/10

Murder in the Mews- Four long short stories featuring Poirot. This book wasn’t that great. The three murder stories I felt would have been better fleshed out as full-length novels. The theft story I thought was boring and totally obvious from the very beginning.

  • Did I solve it? I solved one of the stories, “The Incredible Theft.”
  • My Rating: 6/10

Death on the Nile- A couple on their honeymoon in Egypt is being stalked by the husband’s ex-fiancee. Then the wife turns up dead. Poirot and Colonel Race are both on the boat. I loved this mystery even though I had an inkling of what was going on the whole time. I thought Colonel Race’s subplot of finding a spy was extraneous and totally obvious, and perhaps there are a bit too many characters to keep track of (for me at first, at least!)….but I loved it.

  • Did I solve it? Yes. I went back and forth between A and B…then realized C was the best answer. I also guessed the spy character, because it was totally obvious and it didn’t really fit within the book either.
  • My Rating: 9/10

Appointment with Death: A sadistic woman who maintains total control over her family is murdered while vacationing in Petra. Poirot just can’t catch a break. I really liked this book and the characters, but I do have to admit the ending was kind of cheesy.

  • Did I solve it? No…total fail.
  • My Rating: 8/10

Hercule Poirot’s Christmas: A locked room mystery with Poirot- a rich but cruel multi-millionaire invites his family for Christmas and is killed in his room. The whole family had a motive to kill him. I thought I would like this one more than I did. The actual mystery and the solution were interesting but it was very dialogue heavy. A lot of it was just the detectives questioning the family members, and then discussing those interviews and various possibilities. The parts were stuff was actually happening were good, but there weren’t enough of those.

  • Did I solve it? Well, I played with the idea in my head but it wasn’t until the end that I took it seriously…so kind of.
  • My Rating: 6/10

The Regatta Mystery- A series of kind of random short stories. There are two Parker Pynes (one diamond theft, one relationship one), one Miss Marple, five Hercule Poirots (all murders, I think), and one totally unrelated one. The latter, “In a Glass Darkly,” has supernatural elements- a man sees a woman being strangled in a mirror, but it’s a premonition, not a real reflection. It was…quite weird and very unlike Agatha Christie. Of these, I liked the Poirot stories the best because they were murders. I found it a weak collection on the whole.

  • Did I guess it? I guessed most of the Poirot ones.
  • My Rating: 6/10
Leave a Reply

