Deathly Hallows Part 2- First Viewing

13 Jul

I was fortunate enough to win tickets to an advanced screening of Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part 2 yesterday evening. I can’t even describe in words how much I was looking forward to it. Deathly Hallows is my favorite Harry Potter book, and Deathly Hallows: Part 1 is my favorite Harry Potter movie. All of the trailers and featurettes and early reviews made the movie sound absolutely amazing. I try usually not to let hype get my expectations up too much, but in this case I couldn’t help it. I was fully expecting the series to go out with a bang

Let’s start with my general, spoiler-free opinion. Were my high expectations met? Sadly…no. It was a big let-down, actually. It didn’t feel like part of DH 1. It was more similar in tone to the Half-Blood Prince movie to me for some reason. It was too short and just felt chopped up. Like HBP, it seemed like a lot more was filmed, but then it was hacked in the editing room. And then I read that this was exactly the case…All of the actors, practically, from the previous films are back- for mostly blink-and-you’ll-miss-it cameos. The battle was lackluster and anticlimactic. At points it felt rushed, at other points too slow. A lot of the dialogue was changed and didn’t feel right. The relationships were handled awkwardly. This is just my purist side, but a lot was changed from the book. I didn’t think it would be that way, after Part 1. It really let me down.

Was it a terrible movie? By no means. The acting was good, the special effects were great (though I wouldn’t pay the extra money for the 3D), and some of the scenes did hit the mark.  I know I bashed it pretty hard up there, but, really, the majority of my complaints are based only on the changes from the book. I’m judging it not really for the movie it was but for the movie it could have been, the movie I wanted it to be. The hype definitely ruined things for me. I feel like I would have liked it better if I hadn’t read the books. But then again, my brother, who has only seen the movies, was also let down. He was disappointed by the lack of a bit epic battle scene that he was expecting there to be.

I’m seeing the movie again at the midnight release tomorrow night. I’m hoping with another viewing, I’ll get over my shock about all the changes and my feelings will mellow. I doubt it’ll ever be my favorite of the series, but I really want to like it more. So, I’ll post another, more in-depth review after the second time and see if I’m any more positive.

My Rating: 6/10

 

2 Responses to “Deathly Hallows Part 2- First Viewing”

  1. Bucur Dragos July 14, 2011 at 6:47 AM #

    Unfortunately they have to stop.Everything which is used too much becomes dull or wears out. I liked this review ,clear and objective !

  2. Julie July 18, 2011 at 12:11 PM #

    I actually really liked the movie. Yes, they did stuff I don’t agree with. But I was still on the edge of my seat for much of it, and I still cried for most of the 2nd half. I’m going again this weekend.

Leave a Reply

