Top Ten Bookish Confessions

29 Aug

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme about books hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Yes, I am well aware that today is Wednesday. I didn’t have a chance to do this yesterday. In the past, I have occasionally participated in this meme on my Youtube Channel. But, partially due to my inability to film a video today, partially because I want to be more active on this blog, I thought this week I would change it up and actually do a blog post about it.

Today’s theme is Bookish Confessions.

1. I hate to spend money- unless it’s on books. Anything else I feel is a waste. While I do like clothes, I have some slight body issues and don’t like to spend too much money on them. Jewelry? Pretty, but unnecessary. Shoes? Definitely not. Whenever I buy something else, I only end up thinking of how many books I could have bought with that money.

2. I read way more books than I watch movies. And my favorite movies/series tend to be largely book adaptations.

3. I have read the entire Twilight series. I had no desire to do so, but I ended up being too curious for my own good. I borrowed my friend’s copies (I would not and will not buy them). I also saw the first three movies. But Breaking Dawn was so bad I won’t even see the movies.

4. Even after a year, I’m still depressed at the demise of Borders. Pretty much all I have left now is Barnes and Noble, but it’s not the same experience. There is not as much of a selection, the deals are  not as good, and the employees are less knowledgeable (at least in my local branches!). When I drive past an old Borders location, I still get sad!

5. I hate lending out books. It’s not exactly that I don’t trust others (but that’s partly it), but that I feel nervous having a book separate from the rest of my collection.

6. I buy way more books than I have room for/time to read. I collect books, even though my shelves are to the point of overflowing and there’s no room for more. It’s a form of hoarding, I guess. And this continues even though I have some that have sat unread for years. This relates to the next point…

7. I don’t use my ereader enough. I got this dumb thing last year because it was on sale, I didn’t have room for more books, and I thought it would be good to read public domain books on, that way I wouldn’t at least have to spend money on those. And it turns out that’s all I’ve used it for, and only a couple at that. I also have The Song of Ice and Fire series on it, because it came with a credit I used it on. I have not bought anything on it other than that. It just doesn’t have the same magical feel that books do. I tried!

8. My dream is to have a library that includes the works- a ladder will be a must. Think the scene from the Disney Beauty and the Beast, for reference. Yes, I know ereaders are more convenient, but it’s just not the same!

9. I prefer the look of hardcover, but the feel of paperback. Hardcovers look better on the shelf and they’re sturdier, but unless I’m getting a new book, I always go for paperback. Not only are they cheaper, I prefer how they feel in my hands. Easier to hold!

10. It’s hard not to judge people based on their reading preferences! I hate chick lit/romance novels but I know a lot of people who like them, and indeed will read only those genres. I try to separate those preferences with their personal intelligence but it can be slightly difficult-especially if the books in question happen to be Fifty Shades of Grey. I know everyone has different tastes, but I like to go by “If I don’t like it, that means it’s bad!” (obviously I am exaggerating, lol).
There are a few more I could mention, but I’m going to keep it at ten.

 

One Response to “Top Ten Bookish Confessions”

  1. Dragos September 1, 2012 at 10:52 AM #

    There is no cure against bookish addiction and I like that way. Books are ”windows in walls” ……………

Leave a Reply

