Best and Worst Books of 2017

15 Jan

I haven’t posted on this blog in years, but I read so many good books in 2017 that I wanted to write them all down somewhere. This may be the only post in years, or my last post of all time. I want to say I will keep this blog active, but I probably won’t. While the year was probably the worst year of my life- I struggled with hyperemesis gravidarum, had a baby and dealt with residual post-partum nausea and post-partum anxiety/PTSD…. The year also gave me my beautiful son, who will probably be my only child. I do have to say, it was a great year for reading. I didn’t read that many books (at times I was too nauseated to read), but there were a lot of books that I really enjoyed, especially compared to 2016, which was a sub-part reading year. So here were my favorites, and least favorites:

THE BEST

  1. Heart’s Blood by Juliett Marillier- A very loose Beauty and the Beast retelling. I wasn’t expecting to like it so much because I had a hard time with Daughter of the Forest, and it took me a little bit to get into this one as well. But once I got into it, it was so so good.
  2. The Dark Days Club/Dark Days Pact by Alison Goodman- Regency and demon-fighting! Another page-turner of a series from Alison Goodman. I am so mad I have to wait for the third book!!!
  3. These Broken Stars by Amie Kaufman and Megan Spooner- I put off reading this book for a couple years as I had lost interest in the genre. I wasn’t expecting to love it so much.
  4. Half the World by Joe Abercrombie- I didn’t like it quite as much as Half a King, but it was still a good read.
  5. A Knight of the Seven Kingdoms by George R. R. Martin- A collection of three novellas set in the A Song of Ice and Fire World, about 100 years before A Game of Thrones. I liked these better than a last couple ASOIAF books!
  6. Sharp Objects by Gillian Flynn- I think I liked this more than Gone Girl.
  7. The Disaster Artist by Greg Sestero and Tom Bissell- At times hilarious, at times almost depressing, this is a must-read for fans of The Room or The Disaster Artist movie.
  8. Ross Poldark/Demelza by Graham Winston- I read these before watching the BBC show…which I still haven’t seen. But the books were great!
  9. And the Mountains Echoed by Khaled Hosseini- Probably my least favorite of his books, but I still enjoyed it.
  10. Hollywood Homicide by Kellye Garrett- I won an ARC in a Goodreads giveaway, which I’m really happy about as this was a fun little mystery about a has-been actress turned PI.

THE WORST

  1. More Work for the Undertaker by Margery Allingham- I have not liked her Roderick Alleyn mysteries as much as I expected to after the first book, which I loved. This was especially boring.
  2. Days of Blood and Starlight by Laini Taylor- It was a mistake to wait so many years to read this sequel to The Daughter of Smoke and Bone. I just lost interest.
  3. Outlander by Diana Gabaldon- Maybe my expectations were too high, but I found this extremely boring. The series, at least the episodes I’ve seen so far, was pretty good though.

 

And that’s it for the worst. Everything else was at least mediocre or decent.

 

 

 

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

w

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: